Home ...

Home

TWO INDUSTRIES ‒ ONE GOAL Stahlinstitut VDEh Industrieverband Massivumformung e. V. (IMU) Industrieverband Massivumformung e. V. (IMU)

Phase III with 39 international companies from Western Europe, the USA and Japan Completed – Promising Results Available
93 kg of lightweighting potential in a four-wheel, full-hybrid SUV
124 kg of lightweighting potential in the transmission, drive shaft and rear axle of a conventional truck

Further reducing the weight of vehicles is one of the decisive challenges facing the automotive industry in the near future. This is because less weight means lower CO2 emissions as well as improved material and resource efficiency. Thanks to its lightweight design qualities, modern steels will retain a central role in these developments. Since 2013, The Lightweight Forging Initiative, a cooperation of companies from the steel and forging industries, has been revealing the previously unknown lightweighting potential offered by forged steel parts in the powertrain and chassis.

Phase III, consisting of 39 cooperation partners from Western Europe, the US and Japan, began in July 2017 with the disassembly and documentation of a hybrid split-axle four-wheel drive SUV. This work was carried out by the automotive research company fka Forschungsgesellschaft Kraftfahrwesen mbH, located in Aachen, Germany. Likewise, the transmission, drive shaft and rear axle of a heavy-duty commercial vehicle were disassembled. During a workshop at the end of January 2018 at the fka in Aachen, 80 experts from the companies involved in the project then had the opportunity to assess over 4,000 parts themselves and inspect them with respect to potential lightweighting measures.

Almost 1,000 lightweighting suggestions for the chassis, powertrain, transmission and electronic parts of the hybrid passenger car as well as for the truck powertrain were developed. The ideas relate to lightweighting achieved through materials, design and manufacturing as well as to conceptual lightweight design. The above-named systems in the hybrid passenger car have a reference mass of 816 kg. The lightweighting approaches developed during Phase III add up to a potential weight reduction of 93 kg in total for this vehicle. For the truck powertrain, with a reference mass of 909 kg, the experts were able to promise a total weight reduction of 124 kg.

Presentation of results: Phase III

In addition, the Research Network “Lightweight Forging” of the Industrial Collective Research program (IGF) commenced in 2015. This was a research project involving 10 institutes and university chairs that was funded by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (BMWi). The aim of the project was to find ways of making car powertrains even lighter by means of new steel materials, part designs and production methods, while nevertheless fulfilling stringent service life requirements. After more than three years of intensive research work, the results of the IGF Research Network “Lightweight Forging” were presented on 11 October 2018 at the Research Association for Steel Application (Forschungsvereinigung Stahlanwendung e. V. – FOSTA) in Düsseldorf. Participants at the one-day closing event included the German Federation of Industrial Research Associations (Arbeitsgemeinschaft industrieller Forschungsvereinigungen “Otto von Guericke” e.V. – AiF), Cologne, the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie – BMWi), Berlin, representatives from industry and science, and the research associations involved.

Chairmen of the Initiative

Dr. Hans-Willi Raedt (Chairman for the forging partners, Vice President Advanced Engineering, Hirschvogel Automotive Group, Denklingen):
"High-tech companies across the world are demonstrating the ways in which forging can contribute to lightweight design."

Dr. Thomas Wurm (Chairman for the steel partners, Head of Technical Customer Support and Application Development at Georgsmarienhütte GmbH):
"We develop modern, high-strength steels for processes and products that offer cost-efficient lightweight design solutions for fulfilling future requirements in terms of performance, driving dynamics and the environment."

Dipl.-Math. Sabine Widdermann (Project Management, Management of Strategy Projects of the German Forging Industry Association):
"Forging the future - we are demonstrating lightweight design approaches, even for electric vehicles."

 

Dr.-Ing. Hans-Willi Raedt
Dr.-Ing. Hans-Willi Raedt
Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wurm
Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wurm
Dipl.-Math. Sabine Widdermann
Dipl.-Math. Sabine Widdermann

Zur Startseite ...

Startseite

ZWEI BRANCHEN - EIN ZIEL Stahlinstitut VDEh Industrieverband Massivumformung e. V. (IMU) Industrieverband Massivumformung e. V. (IMU)

Phase III mit 39 internationalen Unternehmen aus Westeuropa, USA und Japan beendet - vielversprechende Ergebnisse liegen vor
93 kg Leichtbaupotenzial bei Allrad-Vollhybrid-SUV
124 kg Leichtbaupotenzial bei konventionellem Lkw in Getriebe, Kardanwalle und Hinterachse

Das Gewicht von Fahrzeugen weiter zu reduzieren ist eine der entscheidenden Herausforderungen für die Automobilindustrie in naher Zukunft. Denn weniger Gewicht bedeutet geringere CO2-Emissionen sowie bessere Material- und Ressourceneffizienz.  Stahl behält dabei eine zentrale Rolle dank seiner Leichtbauqualitäten durch moderne Stahlwerkstoffe. Die Initiative Massiver Leichtbau, eine Kooperation von Unternehmen aus der Stahlbranche und der Massivumformung, zeigt seit 2013 auf, welche noch unbekannten Leichtbaupotenziale bei massivumgeformten Stahlbauteilen in Antrieb und Fahrwerk liegen.

Die Phase III startete im Juli 2017 mit 39 Kooperationspartner aus Westeuropa, USA und Japan mit der Zerlegung und Dokumentation eines hybridisierten Allrad-SUVs mit Split-Axle-Antrieb durch die fka Forschungsgesellschaft Kraftfahrwesen mbH, Aachen. In gleicher Weise wurden Getriebe, Kardanwelle und Hinterachse eines schweren Nutzfahrzeugs demontiert. In einem Workshop Ende Januar 2018 beim fka in Aachen konnten 80 Experten der projektbeteiligten Unternehmen die über 4.000 Bauteile dann selbst beurteilen und im Hinblick auf mögliche Leichtbaumaßnahmen inspizieren.

Erarbeitet wurden fast 1.000 Leichtbauvorschläge für Fahrwerk, Antriebsstrang, Getriebe und Elektronikteile des Hybrid-Pkw und für den Lkw-Antriebsstrang. Die Ideen beziehen sich auf den stofflichen und konstruktiven Leichtbau sowie auf den Fertigungs- und Konzeptleichtbau. Bei dem Hybrid-Pkw mit einer Referenzmasse der oben genannten Systeme von 816 kg summieren sich diese Leichtbauansätze auf eine mögliche Gewichtsreduzierung von insgesamt 93 kg. Für den Lkw-Antriebsstrang mit einer Referenzmasse von 909 kg können die Experten eine Gewichtsreduzierung um insgesamt 124 kg in Aussicht stellen.

Ergebnispräsentation Phase III

2015 ist zusätzlich  der IGF-Forschungsverbund „Massiver Leichtbau" gestartet, ein durch das Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi) gefördertes Forschungsvorhaben mit 10 Instituten und Lehrstühlen, um mithilfe neuer Stahlwerkstoffe sowie Bauteilkonstruktionen und Fertigungsmethoden den Antriebsstrang von Automobilen noch leichter zu machen und trotzdem höchste Lebensdauererwartungen zu erfüllen. Nach mehr als drei Jahren intensiver Forschungsarbeit wurden am 11.10.2018 in Düsseldorf bei der Forschungsvereinigung Stahlanwendung e. V. (FOSTA) die Ergebnisse des IGF-Forschungsverbundes „Massiver Leichtbau" in einer eintägigen Abschlussveranstaltung unter Beteiligung von Arbeitsgemeinschaft industrieller Forschungsvereinigungen „Otto von Guericke“ e. V. (AiF), Köln, Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi), Berlin, und Vertretern aus Industrie und Wissenschaft sowie den eingebundenen Forschungsvereinigungen präsentiert. 

Sprecher der Initiative

Dr. Hans-Willi Raedt (Sprecher für die Massivumformer, Vice President Advanced Engineering, Hirschvogel Automotive Group, Denklingen):
„High-Tech-Firmen weltweit zeigen auf, wie die Massivumformung zum Leichtbau beitragen kann.“

Dr. Thomas Wurm (Sprecher für die Stahlhersteller, Leiter Technische Kundenberatung und Anwendungsentwicklung bei der Georgsmarienhütte GmbH):
„Wir entwickeln moderne, höherfeste Stähle, die Prozesse und Produkte für wirtschaftliche Leichtbaulösungen zur Erfüllung auch künftiger Anforderungen an Leistung, Fahrdynamik und Umwelt ermöglichen.“

Dipl.-Math. Sabine Widdermann (Projektleitung, Leitung Strategische Projekte im Industrieverband Massivumformung e. V.):
„Massiv in die Zukunft - wir zeigen Leichtbauansätze auch für elektrifizierte Fahrzeuge auf“

 

Dr.-Ing. Hans-Willi Raedt
Dr.-Ing. Hans-Willi Raedt
Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wurm
Dr.-Ing. Thomas Wurm
Dipl.-Math. Sabine Widdermann
Dipl.-Math. Sabine Widdermann